The state of Colorado via Amendment 64 legalized the sale and possession of marijuana in December 2012. With this, Colorado is one of the two places in the world where an adult above the age of 21 years can legally buy, possess and consume marijuana for medical and recreational reasons.
Yes, you don’t need a medical reason to buy cannabis products at any dispensary in 80221. And yes, tourists can also buy and use the products. However, there are still rules. Here is everything you need to know about buying cannabis in Denver Colorado.
Who Can Buy Marijuana in Colorado
Any person above the age of 21 years can buy, possess and consume marijuana. There is no distinction between Colorado residents and tourists who are visiting or passing through the state in terms of purchase, possession or consumption of cannabis products in Colorado.
Where Can One Buy Marijuana in Denver, Colorado?
Initially, the state allowed 136 licensed stores to sell cannabis statewide. And remember, cities, towns and counties can ban the sale of marijuana in certain stores. Therefore, before placing your order, search for the best dispensary that boasts of a positive reputation and higher customer satisfaction.
How Do You Transport Cannabis in Colorado?
Once you buy Starbuds nw Denver, you can carry them in your vehicle, but inside a sealed container. You cannot enter or leave the state boundaries with cannabis in your vehicle. It is also illegal to consume marijuana inside your vehicle.
And yes, you cannot fly out of Denver with cannabis. Other airports in the state also apply similar restrictions.
How Much Cannabis Can One Buy in Colorado?
In the past, there was a distinction between visitors and residents in terms of what one can and cannot buy. That’s no longer the case. Any adult above the age of 21 years with valid identification documents can purchase up to one ounce of cannabis daily.
However, it is worth remembering that all marijuana is not flowing, the 1-ounce restriction applies to flower marijuana only. One ounce of the flower is equivalent to 800 milligrams of edibles and 8 grams of cannabis concentrates like wax and shatter.
Can One Grow Marijuana
Any person above the age of 21 years can grow, possess and transport marijuana. The state allows such a person to own up to six plants per resident.
Cannabis plants must be grown in an enclosed, secure place that’s not open or public. As a farmer, you must process the plant at the site and should not sell it.
The Use of Marijuana
The Colorado laws are a little vague on the use of cannabis. It prohibits people from using marijuana in open and public spaces.
As a tourist, you can visit a private cannabis club where patrons are allowed to consume the product safely and legally.
The Colorado marijuana laws are ever-evolving, therefore, it is important to ensure you understand up to date laws before buying or consuming marijuana. also, ensure you purchase from the best dispensary in the state.